Be My Valentine

So last Wednesday we did something a little nuts and decided to go to Boston for the weekend.

!

What were we thinking!?

20160213_145952

My husband had Friday off, and Monday was Family Day in Canada, so he had that off too, so we thought, “What fun thing could we do as a family with our 5 day weekend?” And since my sister and her husband live in Boston, we thought to ourselves, “Why not?! it’s only 6 1/2 hours! No big deal!”

It was super fun, and I am so glad we went, but between the blizzard on the way there and the traffic on the way home, it took 8 hours each way. Also, Boston had a huge cold front move in, so we were trying to navigate the city in negative degree weather with two little kids…and I had a moment of clarity.

Boston has awesome amenities, like last-meal-good restaurants,  theater, shopping, cool history (The Old North Church! The Ship in the Boston Harbor! The Constitution Museum!) and awesome places to take kids, but I am not a city girl. I need my free suburban parking. Two lane roads with square intersections. My backyard where I can’t see anyone else’s house. Access to Target and Hancock Fabric. I do not like public transportation and narrow one way city streets and Wal-mart being 40 minutes into the suburbs. I am a country/suburb girl at heart.

So, since we were in Boston for Valentine’s Day, I didn’t get to finish my son’s Valentine shirt. And the cute little romper I made for my daughter was all covered up with sweaters and a long sleeve onesie because it was SO. COLD. all weekend!

So here is our little V-day photo shoot we did when we got back home!

valentine 5

So I am SO in love with this pattern! It’s the Alley Cat Romper by Lil Luxe Collection. I will be making them until she outgrows the pattern (which goes up to size 8, so it will be a while!)

valentine 3

The fabric was living it’s previous life as a dress on the clearance rack at Rue 21 until the day I snatched it up for $4.99 and painstakingly unpicked every seam to have enough fabric to make this romper! I love BOGO clearance. Some of my favorite fabric has been sourced there.

valentine 4

I love the roomy harem pants and the adorable scoop back of this romper! The pattern has a great fit and comes together in under an hour from cutting the pieces to modeling on a wicker chair.

valentine 2

Believe it or not, the chair was her idea. I’m going to be in trouble when she can articulate her thoughts more precisely.

valentine 1

Enjoy this last shot of Valentine cuteness while I go finish up my third Project Run and Play look! Glitter week!!!!!

Leave a Reply

